Selena Gomez and The Scene: ‘Kiss and Tell’ Album Review

Selena Gomez and The Scene
‘Kiss and Tell’ album review
By Michael Aaron Gallagher of StayFamous.Net

“Sweet, sassy, and supercool, ‘Kiss and Tell’ is solid proof that Selena Gomez is becoming a versatile, multitalented entertainer with genuine star power.” – StayFamous.Net

Review: (4 stars out 5 stars)

On Sept. 29, Selena Gomez and The Scene (Ethan, Joey, Nick, and Greg) released their first album “Kiss and Tell” on Hollywood Records. With 13 tracks, including a remix of her popular song “Tell Me Something I Don’t Know” (from the “Another Cinderella Story” soundtrack), the CD demonstrates Selena’s concerted effort to make a successful debut as a new recording artist.

With the “core” of the record shaped by Ted Bruner and contributions made by Isaac Hasson and the impressive John Fields, Gomez benefited greatly from the masterful work of the team behind much of Demi Lovato’s musical success.

Coming off her recent win as “Best Actress in a Television Comedy” at the 14th Annual ALMA Awards for her role on the Emmy-award winning Disney Channel show “Wizards of Waverly Place,” there’s no question, right now Selena Gomez is all the rage in Hollywood. At 17, she’s a hip, stylish trendsetter, whose fashionable wardrobe choices, hairstyles and accessories demonstrate her unique personality, a blend of girl-next-door sweetness with a playful edge of sarcasm and comedic wit. It’s no wonder, she has swiftly become a merchandising sensation.

Up until now, fans have only heard a small sample of Selena Gomez’s musical style. She recently released four songs on the “Wizards of Waverly Place” soundtrack, “One and the Same,” a duet with Demi Lovato for Disney’s “Princess Protection Program” soundtrack, and a collaboration with Miley Cyrus, the Jonas Brothers, and Demi Lovato on “Send It On.”

It was easy to see her anxiety leading up to the album’s release date, but the fact is Selena Gomez has nothing to be worried about. Her fans will definitely enjoy rocking out to her new album. She continues to be an inspiration to many young people who admire her for her hard work, determination and her commitment to set a good example as a role model for kids. But “Kiss and Tell” is not just an album for her fans. Many of the songs on the album have a broader appeal, even beyond the target demographic.

Other music critics (and even some of her fans) have questioned her ability to sing and compared her to other Radio Disney stars like Demi Lovato and Miley Cyrus. Despite the limitations she may have vocally (a criticism that can also be leveled against many other pop artists as well), she ultimately delivers an album that is fun and full of personality.

As a new artist, it can often be a challenge to find your own voice and determine the sound and genre that is best suited for your abilities. As Selena continues to perform over the coming year, she will certainly develop a style that compliments her vocal range and individuality.

Tracks on “Kiss and Tell” include:

1. “Kiss and Tell” –The title track gets the album off to an up-tempo start, although it is not one of the best songs on the album.

2. “I Won’t Apologize” – The only song on the record written by Gomez, “I won’t apologize” was co-written by John Fields, who has also worked with Jonas Brothers and Demi Lovato.

3. “Falling Down” – When the single was first released on Radio Disney in August, it took me a while to figure out what was holding me back from loving it. Then I realized that my favorite parts of the song are the verses. In fact, the lines “you give me roses, but they’re all just made of plastic” and “smile for the camera, everybody’s looking at ya,” are two of my favorite lines on the CD. Although Selena does a phenomenal job creating a cool, edgy vibe, the problem I initially had with the song was the chorus. If another chorus (with a different tune) was substituted in its place, the song would have a more cohesive flow and perhaps be a little more catchy. “Falling Down” is a good song, but with a little re-working and re-mixing, it could be better.

4. “I Promise You” (Written by Isaac Hasson, Lindy Robbins, and Mher Filian) – (*Top Pick for StayFamous.Net “Favorite Song” on the Album) – Although there are several songs that deserve praise, “I Promise You” was the first track on the album that caught my attention during the “Planet Premiere” on Radio Disney. After replaying the album dozens and dozens of times since its debut, it continues to be one of my favorite tracks. Note: It made me smile when, at the 2:45 mark, I heard Selena deliver the line “forever we will stay true” a lot like Demi Lovato.

5. “Crush” – The best part of the song is when Selena talks and whispers, “I wasn’t really in love, it was just a crush.”

6. “Naturally” – As one of the most listened to songs currently in my music playlist, its dance beat makes it a fun song to drive to.

7. “The Way I Loved You” – With a hint of country style, this is a song that would be interesting to hear a cover performed by Savannah Outen or Taylor Swift.

8. “More” – Ironically, the song that sounds most in line with Demi Lovato’s style, is my least favorite on this album.

9. “As a Blonde” – There is a heavy “Hannah Montana” feel to this track.

10. “I Don’t Miss You At All” – With an expertly-mixed blend of dance and rock, it would also be interesting to hear an all-acoustic version of this song, with the same guitar work that occurs around the 2:18 mark.

11. “Stop and Erase” – The best line in this song is “’Cause I’m gonna wipe that smile off your know-it-all face.”

12. “I Got You” – I especially like the background vocals by Julia Harriman on this song, which add a great vibe toward the end of the track (from 2:30 to 2:50).

13. “Tell Me Something I Don’t Know” (bonus track) – This is a slightly more mature sounding remix of the song featured on the “Another Cinderella Story” Soundtrack, (which means I can finally listen to it, without getting strange looks from co-workers).

Regardless of how long her music career lasts, Selena Gomez is a superstar who is proving she can do just about anything.

For more information on Selena Gomez’s music, including her debut album on Hollywood Records, visit, where you can listen to her songs and add her as a friend. Selena Gomez appears on “Wizards of Waverly Place” Fridays at 8 p.m. EST on the Disney Channel.

Want to know more about Michael Aaron Gallagher? Read his IMDb mini-biography at and follow him on Twitter at

Related Stories:
How ‘Selena Gomez’ made him famous (Michael Aaron Gallagher’s exclusive interview with Greg Kurka)
Drew Seeley brings fiction to life
Demi Lovato ‘Don’t Forget’ Album Review
Demi Lovato ‘Here We Go Again’ Album Review
Lovato and Gomez rock in Disney’s ‘Princess Protection Program’

“Selena Gomez and The Scene:
‘Kiss and Tell’ Album Review”
Copyright © 2009 by Michael Aaron Gallagher

To request permission to use excerpts from “Stay Famous by Michael Aaron Gallagher” or to quote StayFamous.Net on television or in print please contact Manhattan Public Relations.

Media Contact: Michael Aaron Gallagher

Bookmark and Share